Потребителски вход

Запомни ме | Регистрация
Постинг
11.08.2020 10:49 - Three travel tips and tricks
Автор: krisko1301 Категория: Туризъм   
Прочетен: 908 Коментари: 1 Гласове:
1

Последна промяна: 11.08.2020 11:33

Постингът е бил сред най-популярни в категория в Blog.bg

image


The day was the 8th of March – 1999. At 18:30 a boy was born. The Sun was in its second phase of the hyperpolident movement. At this time, the boy was cursed with an unusual gift - to be put in extreme situations and to go out of them ALIVE. 

What do you call extreme? Jumping off 15 meters high cliff, falling an inch away from the rocks? Running from two VARIOUS DOGS? Eating Thai food from the street. Ha Ha! This is cute. I have done all of that and MORE. 

Some of my scariest experiences were not those where I was a step away from serious injuries. The most I"ve been worried was whenever something happens while I"m travelling abroad. You are in a different country. You don"t know anybody. You cant speak the language. And suddenly - your phone dies. What are you doing then? You can do whatever you think is right, Except for one - panicking

Following my previous experiences, I have created a list of three MUSTs while on the road

image

1. Always have your tickets, documents, plans and schedules written on paper!

I was in Brussels and I was about to travel back to Bulgaria. Whoever had a flight from Brussels knows that the city has two airports - one in Charleroi and the big one. Well, I also knew it, however back then I did not check  which airport I should go to. So, after a long session of listening to music and using Google maps, I was on the train to Charleroi with 11% of battery and... then I noticed on my physical ticket that I was headed to the wrong airport. It was 22:10, I was almost out of Brussels and the possibility to miss my flight was enormous. Good for me there was a lady that was working in the train company. She told me about the possible outcomes, so I took the last possible train that could take me back to the main airport. After all, I made somebody’s day.

image

2.
ALWAYS bring card and cash with you!

Imagine this situation: You land in the Netherlands. Get to the bus stop, grab a beautiful white Tesla taxi and ask the driver to take you to your hotel. He drives you there, the bill is 31.17 Euro, you give him 50 Euro and suddenly the tall, elegant Dutchman turns into a RED, ANGRY devil from below. It turns out that most of the taxies in the Netherlands are accepting only cashless payments. 

I was in this situation, and it GOT WORSE. The debit card from my bank was not accepted from the driver"s terminal. I had to ask a Dutch friend of mine to come and pay the bill for me. Then I understood that not all cards are getting accepted. The reason was that the terminals want a schemes and payment methods. I did my research and I end up purchasing an iCard visa card, that the terminals were accepting. To be honest, after this situation, I have not stopped using it. Turns out that not only the short happy Irish guys bring luck, but also the tall angry Dutch. 

image

3. Invest in a little more expensive suitcase, otherwise... 

... Otherwise, you will have to carry a broken suitcase through the entire centre of a big city like Barcelona. Why am I telling you this?

My girlfriend and I were on holiday in Barca. My biggest dream was to visit this beautiful city, full of colours, history and culture. All the artists, the live statues and the dancer on La Plaza Europa. Again I can smell the salty air from my desk, while I am writing this. 

I remember that I was in such a big rush to my hotel, to drop my luggage and go explore, that at some point I broke my suitcase"s wheel. I don"t know if you are familiar with the weather in Barcelona, but in the summer it might get really hot. So, I had to carry it on my shoulder for more than 2 kilometres. After that, I needed two baths to wash the sweat off of me. 

Those three little stories are only a little part of my stack of experiences. After every one of them, I took important lessons to apply to my trips. Even the fact that I have travelled so much, I"m still making some silly mistakes that are escalating to very big problems. However, I don"t go out without my cash and iCard, important things on paper and a good suitcase.

I will be interested in reading your stories and interesting experiences through your trips. I wonder if you could beat mine. I challenge you to do so in the comments!

Good luck and be safe




Гласувай:
1



1. krisko1301 - More information
11.08.2020 11:09
For those, who are interested in what I'm using:
iCard app: https://ddwj9.app/zR9u
My suitcase: https://cutt/Yd1IIav
цитирай
Търсене

За този блог
Автор: krisko1301
Категория: Забавление
Прочетен: 9261
Постинги: 7
Коментари: 8
Гласове: 12
Архив
Календар
«  Март, 2024  
ПВСЧПСН
123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031